Muhammad Usman Nawaz, Nikki Miller, Lucia Nelson, Laura Armstrong, Pippa Armstrong, and Ariana Chavez.

2016 Haake Poetry Prize winners


Linda Moua, Tara Ziegeweid, Aaliya Delmore, and Morgan Walker. Not pictured is Julia Kronebusch.
Linda Moua, Tara Ziegeweid, Aaliya Delmore, and Morgan Walker. Not pictured is Julia Kronebusch.

Haake judges Carol Borzyskoski, Ken McCullough, and Emilio Degrazia.
Haake judges Carol Borzyskoski, Ken McCullough, and Emilio Degrazia.

The Foundation for Winona Area Public Schools congratulates the 2016 Annual Haake Poetry Award winners.

WSHS winners
First place ($100 prize): Pippa Armstrong and Muhammad Usman Nawaz
Second place ($50 prize): Nikki Miller, Lucy Nelson, and Ariana Chavez

WMS winners

First place ($100 prize): Tara Ziegeweid and Aaliya Delmore
Second place ($50 prize): Linda Moua, Julia Kronebusch, and Morgan Walker

Thank you to all student contestants for their participation which generated 124 original poetry compositions this year. The foundation would like to thank Laura Armstrong and Eileen Dahlin, and all of the language arts teachers at WMS and WSHS, and its esteemed judges panel.

The judges included Winona State University Professor Emeritus and former Winona Poet Laureate Emilio DeGrazia. He has published several books of fiction and creative nonfiction and a collection of poetry. His most recent title is “Eye Shadow,” a collection of essays. He will have one of his full length plays, “Goats,” performed in Rochester in late June. Current Winona Poet Laureate Ken McCullough was the second judge. McCullough is a graduate of the Iowa Writer’s Workshop. He has published eight books of poetry and a volume of short fiction. His poetry and translations have appeared in over 250 magazines and 50 anthologies. He has received many awards for his poetry, most recently grants from SEMAC and the Minnesota State Arts Board. McCullough has taught at several universities as well as the Poetry-in-the-Schools programs in Montana, South Carolina and Iowa, and has given workshops in grade schools, colleges and universities, senior centers and prisons. The third judge, Carol Borzykowski, is a columnist and retired 25-year associate librarian who originally initiated the Poet Laureate Program in Winona. Borzykowski is also a former editor and publisher of Main Channel Voices: A Dam Fine Literary Magazine. Borzykowski currently is editing various blogs, creating amazing jewelry and beautiful functional mosaic art pieces and serving as secretary for Fourth Ward Winona Councilman George Borzyskowski.

The support and commitment of the teachers and the judges helped make this program a tremendous success.

A debt of gratitude is owed to Dr. Paul Haake who established this annual poetry competition at the Foundation for Winona Area Public Schools. Dr. Haake, a 1950 alumnus of Winona Senior High School and Professor Emeritus at Wesleyan University, honored the memory of his father, Arnold Haake, by endowing the annual poetry prize. For more information, please call the Foundation for WAPS at 507-494-1004.


Search Archives

Our online forms will help you through the process. Just fill in the fields with your information.

Any troubles, give us a call.