Winona farmer wins in national corn yield contest


DEKALB® farmer Jenna Sobeck of Winona captured a first place state yield award for Minnesota in the 2016 National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) National Corn Yield Contest. Sobeck achieved her winning yield of 267.8674 bushels per acre in the no-till/strip-till irrigated category with DEKALB DKC62-08RIB brand blend corn.  

In all, 7,972 farmers from throughout the U.S. entered the 2016 yield contest. Winners were honored at the 2017 Commodity Classic earlier this month in San Antonio, Texas, with an awards banquet and private concert featuring country music star Josh Turner.  

“It is exciting to see these farmers push the yield boundaries, and we congratulate them for their hard work and success,” said Jesse Hamonic, DEKALB Asgrow® brand lead, who presented a trophy to Sobeck at the banquet. “Through its advanced breeding program, the DEKALB brand is committed to helping farmers maximize their success by offering exclusive, high-yield genetics that deliver consistent performance.”

In the 2016 NCGA yield contest, DEKALB farmers captured seven of the 18 national awards and 147 first, second and third place awards at the state level. The full list of DEKALB winners can be found at


Search Archives

Our online forms will help you through the process. Just fill in the fields with your information.

Any troubles, give us a call.