From: Capt. Jon Paurus
DNR Enforcement Division
Education programs coordinator
Q: With winter in the air, folks are getting ready to ride their snowmobiles. What training is required to legally operate a snowmobile?
A: Minnesota law requires anyone born after Dec. 31, 1976, to take a safety training course before operating a snowmobile on public lands or waters. For those 11 years old and older, there are two options: a classroom course consisting of multiple sessions followed by a hands-on riding course, or an online course that then requires a hands-on ride and review day. For those 16 years old and older, there’s an independent study online course where students can complete their certification training at home.
Once they have successfully completed their courses, students are given instructions on how to receive a certificate from the DNR. Both of these courses show students the most common causes of snowmobile accidents in Minnesota, and how to avoid them. Volunteers teach classes across the state. Information regarding snowmobile certification classes can be found on the DNR website at www.mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle/snowmobile.