Home Page

Search Winona Post:
   GO   x 
Advanced Search
  Issue Date:  
  Column / Category:  
  Current Issue  
  Past Issues  
   Help      Close     GO   Clear   
  Thursday January 29th, 2015    

 Submit Your Event 





| Home | Advertise with Us | Circulation | Contact Us | About Us | Send a Letter to the Editor |

  (ARCHIVES)Back to Current
Winona FFA members honored at banquet (04/29/2009)
The 65th Annual Winona FFA Banquet was held on April 14, at Winona Senior High School. Over 200 parents, guests and members were present.

Winona FFA President Labecca Johnson was master of ceremonies. Winona FFA Advisor Brian Sather recognized the chapter’s most outstanding members with awards based on their leadership skills, chapter involvement and individual projects.

Chapter Power Point Presentations were presented by Labecca Johnson of Magical Moments Productions and the theme for this year’s banquet was “Step Up and Stand Out.”


The Star Member Awards were presented to the chapter’s most outstanding members:

The Star Freshman Award went to Carolyn Smith, daughter of Pamela Smith of LaCrescent, Minn.

The Star Discovery Degree Awards went to Luke Johnson, son of Richard and Linda Johnson of LaCrescent; Chelsea Schossow, daughter of Keith Schossow and Cindy Terrill; and Jamie Woodard, son of Jimmy and Michelle Woodard of Winona.

The Star Greenhand Award went to Karley Renswick, daughter of Todd Hornberg and Kari Renswick.

Star Senior Awards went to Katie Hackbarth, daughter of Jeff and Joanne Hackbarth of Houston, Minn.; Dan Marg, son of Robert and Elayne Marg of Altura, Minn.; Mandy Wood, daughter of Nancy and Chris Wood of Winona; and Jessica Woodard, daughter of Jimmy and Michelle Woodard of Winona.

The chapter’s “Most Outstanding Member” Awards went to Lincoln Tibor, son of Tom and Marie Tibor of Minnesota City, Minn., and Labecca Johnson, daughter of Richard and Linda Johnson of LaCrescent.

Labecca Johnson was recognized as being the chapter’s most active female senior member when she was named “Chapter Sweetheart.” Lincoln Tibor was named the “Cream of the Crop” as the chapter’s most active senior male member. Labecca Johnson was also awarded the Retiring President’s Plaque for serving as 2008-09 Winona FFA President.

The Winona FFA recognized the top individuals on each contest team with a plaque. These winners were: Labecca Johnson for Public Speaking, Job Interview Contest, Discussion Meet and Dairy Foods; Luke Johnson for Creed Speaking; Jacob Johnson for Ag Mechanics; Karley Renswick for Floriculture; Mallory Jackels for Horse Judging; Chris Datta for Top Talent Act; Dan Marg for Trapshooting; Jamie Woodard for Dairy Judging; Hunter Merchlewitz and Belinda Olson for Top Bowlers.

The first degree of membership in the Winona FFA Chapter is the Discovery Degree. This degree was awarded to Dylan Antoff, Justin Antoff and Danny Young.

The second degree of membership in the FFA is the Greenhand Degree. This degree was awarded to Carolyn Smith.

The third and highest local degree of membership in the Winona FFA is the Chapter Degree. This degree was awarded to Jason Hackbarth, Andrew Hornberg, Paul Johnson, Bryan McNally, Karley Renswick and Katelyn Sather.

The fourth degree that a member can earn is the prestigious Minnesota State FFA Degree. The degree was awarded to Dan Marg and Lincoln Tibor.

Regional In School Achievement Awards were awarded to chapter members who were active at region, state and national FFA activities. Gold Award winner was Labecca Johnson. Silver winners were Paul Johnson, Dan Marg and Lincoln Tibor, Bronze Award winners were Jacob Johnson, Luke Johnson, Karley Renswick, Jessica Woodard and Mandy Wood.

The Winona FFA gave honorary memberships to community leaders who have been active supporters of the chapter. This year’s awards went to: Tom and Marie Tibor, Jimmy and Michelle Woodard, Nancy Wood, Catherine Blood, and Mr. John Phelps.

The Roger Metz Pitchfork Awards were presented by Mr. Roger Metz to active supporters who had already received the honorary degree. The winners were Ms. Pat Olson, Mrs. Kathie Erdmann and Dave and Karen Ledebuhr.

The banquet was put on by the 2008-09 Winona FFA Officer Team with guest presentations by Winona FFA Alumni President Jeff Romine and by FFA supporter Mr. Roger Metz. Winona FFA President Labecca Johnson delivered her retiring address.

The Flag Bearers were Carolyn Smith and Jamie Woodard, the National Anthem was performed by Emily Kammerer, and a talent performance was given by Chris Datta.

Winona FFA Alumni Senior College Scholarships were awarded to Lincoln Tibor, Jessica Woodard and Dan Marg and the Winona FFA Alumni Jacket was awarded to Chelsea Schossow. The first Annual Mike Rumpca Memorial Scholarship was presented to Labecca Johnson. 


   Copyright © 2015, Winona Post, All Rights Reserved.


Send this article to a friend:
Your Email: *
Friend's Email: *
 Back Next Page >>



| Home | Advertise with Us | Circulation | Contact Us | About Us | Send a Letter to the Editor |

Contact Us to
Advertise in the
Winona Post!