As Minnesotans saddle up for the spring horseback riding season, the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) reminds riders to get a Horse Trail Pass before hitting any state-managed trails. Riders without the pass may be subject to fines. Introduced in 2007, the pass - which costs $21 for the calendar year or $5 daily - is required on horse trails within state parks, state forests, state trails, and state recreation areas for anyone 16 years of age and older. Riders must possess a signed pass while riding on state-managed horse trails.
Horse Trail Passes can be purchased from DNR Electronic License System vendors across the state. These are the same vendors who sell fishing and hunting licenses.
For more information about horseback riding or to buy a Horse Trail Pass online, visit the DNR Web site at mndnr.gov/horseback_riding or call the DNR Information Center, 651-296-6157, or toll free 888-646-6367.